Litlets

April 21, 2011

NaPoWriMo Day 17: Half a moment

I’ve decided to post all my NaPoWriMo works here, no matter how bad. I reserve the right to revise before posting, however. Believe it or not, I’ve taken out the worst lines (the “this is how you should feel” lines) from the following.

Half a moment

Like when I’m in the parking lot, fast
food sandwich halfway to my mouth
and a breeze takes away the smell
of diesel and burning grease and brings
earth and grass and is that lilacs
and the chirp of robins and finches
and I see an old couple walk by
and his stubble and her white hair
and unseen feathers and blooms and blades
are closer to me than my skin, part
of me, no, we’re all parts, we all belong to
and the wind changes and I eat my sandwich.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

