Litlets

April 5, 2008

Poem for April 2, 2008 – Aging

Aging

I’ve had wine, though not the best.
The vinegar of virtue’s not for me.

I’ve had wine, though not the best,
women too, though few, and those
too fine for me, and songs that
staggered down the wrong keys
like a drunken bag lady.
My innocence skipped out when my mind
wandered from minding the shop,
shopping, and chopping vices.
Midway through life I took the low, broad road
strewn with bawds, bards and bottles.
The vinegar of virtue’s not for me.

Comments:
This is my attempt at a fatras, though it’s too rational to be a good example of the form. One of the defining characteristics of the form is the preliminary argument, composed of the first and last lines of the body of the poem.

1 Comment »

  1. […] jf wrote an interesting post today onHere’s a quick excerptAging I’ve had wine, though not the best. The vinegar of virtue’s not for me. I’ve had wine, though not the best, women too, though few, and those too fine for me, and songs that staggered down the wrong keys like a drunken bag lady. … […]

    Pingback by Poem for April 2, 2008 - Aging | Aging Net — April 6, 2008 @ 12:24 am | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Create a free website or blog at WordPress.com.

